Zimbabwe named unbeaten duo in squad for T20I series against Ireland

File photo of Zimbabwean cricketer Sikandar Raza© X (formerly Twitter)

Zimbabwe Cricket on Tuesday announced a 15-member squad for the three-match T20 international series against Ireland and included two uncapped players. The three-match T20I series begins on Thursday at the Harare Sports Club. Middle-order batsman Brian Bennett and pace bowler Trevor Gwandu have been added to the squad against Ireland. They are among the four changes made to the side that failed to secure one of the two ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2023 spots that were up for grabs at the regional qualifying tournament held in Namibia recently. While leg-spinner Brandon Mavuta and batsman Tony Munyonga have received recalls, the selectors have dropped pace bowler Tendai Chatara and left-arm spinner Wellington Masakadza, as well as openers Innocent Kaia and Nick Welch.

Veteran batsman Craig Ervine, who played only the first of Zimbabwe’s six matches in the qualifiers before suffering a groin strain, is now fit again and has been retained.

Captain Sikandar Raza will lead the side which includes regulars Sean Williams, Richard Ngarava, Blessing Muzarabani and Ryan Burl. The three T20I matches between Zimbabwe and Ireland are scheduled for December 7, 9 and 10 at the Harare Sports Club.

T20I squad against Ireland: Sikandar Raza (c), Brian Bennett, Ryan Burl, Craig Ervine, Trevor Gwandu, Luke Jongwe, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Brandon Mavuta, Carl Mumba, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava Sean Williams.

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *