TikTok banned by Nepal over claims it disrupts ‘social harmony’ | Science and technology news

Which other countries have banned TikTok?

TikTok has been banned in several countries, with many citing security concerns about the Chinese app.

The UK and US governments have banned the app on government phones, as have the European Parliament, the European Commission and the Council of the EU.

TikTok has repeatedly denied ever sharing data with the Chinese government, saying it would not do so if asked.

Other countries that ban it from public entities include Australia, Canada, Denmark, France, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway and Taiwan.

Nepal’s neighbor India banned TikTok over fears it could compromise national security and integrity.

Afghanistan’s Taliban leadership banned it in 2022 on the grounds that it protected young people from “being misled”.

Pakistan has banned it due to what the government calls its “immoral and obscene” content, while Somalia has banned it due to concerns about terror-related content.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *