Today is the last day to save your old Google Account. How to save your data.


Google account holders, beware: If you have an old Google account, you have just a few more hours to use it or lose it.

Starting Dec. 1, Google will delete inactive accounts and all their content, such as photos, calendar entries, emails, contacts and Drive documents, according to the company’s updated account politics. The system-wide cleanup is intended to protect users from security threats such as spam, phishing scams and account hijacking, Google have said.

Here’s everything you need to know about how to keep your account active and save your data before the tech giant starts deleting inactive accounts on Friday.

Why does Google delete inactive accounts?

Google deletes inactive accounts from its system because it says they are “more likely to be compromised.” Unsupervised accounts often rely on old or reused passwords, receive fewer user security checks and are 10 times more likely to not have two-factor authentication set up, Google’s internal data shows.

Once an account is compromised, “it can be used for everything from identity theft to … unwanted or even malicious content, such as spam,” the company said May last year in a statement about the policy change.

When are Google accounts deleted?

Google will begin closing inactive accounts on December 1, 2023, according to the company’s announcement of the updated policy.

It will begin by eliminating accounts that users created and then never visited again, the policy states.

Which Google accounts will be deleted?

According to Google’s new policy, “if a Google Account has not been used or logged in for at least 2 years… the account and its content – including content in Google Workspace (Gmail, Docs, Drive, Meet, Calendar) and Google Photos” can be deleted.

However, the new policy only applies to personal Google Accounts, meaning it doesn’t affect school- or company-managed accounts. In addition, Google will not remove accounts that have uploaded YouTube videos or have active subscriptions to apps or news services, the company’s updated account policy shows.

Affected users will receive “multiple notifications” that their accounts will be closed before it actually happens, the company said in a statement.

How can I make sure that my Google Account is not deleted?

To ensure that your Google Account remains active, you must sign in to your account and use one of the company’s tools such as Gmail, Google Drive, Google Photos and Google Play.

Here is a list of actions that will signal to Google that your account is active according to company account policy:

  • Reading or sending an email
  • Using Google Drive
  • Watching a YouTube video
  • Download an app in the Google Play Store
  • Using Google Search
  • Using Sign in with Google to access a third-party app or service

How can I save my Google data?

Some Google users may want to download their data or simply back it up while letting their old accounts expire. To do that you can go to this Google websitewhich explains how to use it Google Takeaway service to save your data.

Google Takeout allows you to decide whether you want to download all your data or whether you want to save data from specific services like email or photos. You can also download the data to various services, such as Dropbox or Microsoft OneDrive.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *