Deepak Hooda, Deepak Chahar star in Rajasthan’s five-wicket win over Gujarat in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Deepak Hooda and Deepak Chahar underlined their white-ball credentials with an unbeaten fifty and six-wicket haul respectively, guiding Rajasthan to a five-wicket win over Gujarat in a Group D Vijay Hazare match in Chandigarh on Saturday. Chahar’s six for 41 was instrumental in Rajasthan bowling out Gujarat for 128 in 29 overs at the Sector-26 Cricket Ground. Rajasthan were in some early turmoil at 18 for 4, but Hooda calmed nerves with a gritty 76 off 79 balls (8×4, 3×6) as they went past the target in 28.4 overs.

Mumbai defeat Kerala In a Group A match, Mumbai defied a tough Kerala and a couple of rain delays to post an eight-wicket victory at the Alur-KSCA Oval.

Angkrish Raghuvanshi (57 off 47 balls, 5×4, 4×6) and captain Ajinkya Rahane (34 not out off 20 balls, 4×6) powered Mumbai past the revised target (under the VJD method) of 159 in 30 overs in 24.2 overs.

Earlier, Sachin Baby made a hundred (104, 134 balls, 8×4, 2×6) and Sanju Samson (55, 83 balls, 3×4, 2×6) played around a batting collapse to take Kerala to 231 all out in 49.1 overs.

Himmat, Suyash spurred Delhi leg-spinner Suyash Sharma’s four-wicket haul and Himmat Singh’s quickfire fifty propelled Delhi to an easy eight-wicket win over Mizoram in their Group C match.

Sharma’s 4 for 25 enabled Delhi to bowl out Mizoram for 128 and then chase down the target in just 17 overs, losing two wickets.

Himmat (52 off 43 balls) and Badoni (45 off 24 balls) made light work of the target.

Haryana interrupt Bihar In a Group C match, pacers Harshal Patel (4/49) and SP Kumar (3/25) helped Haryana restrict Bihar to 112 all out in 30.4 overs.

With openers Yuvraj Singh (50 off 57 balls) and Ankit Kumar (61 off 60 balls) scoring in quick succession, Haryana overtook the target in just under 20 overs for a 10-wicket win.

Sai Sudarshan, Warrier shine for TN B Sai Sudarshan’s 125 off 144 balls lifted Tamil Nadu to 296 for eight in a Group E match against Goa. The total proved too strong for the Goans as pacer Sandeep Warrier’s 4 for 20 in seven overs helped TN bowl them out for 263 to claim a 33-run win.

Brief results: Group A: Kerala: 231 all out in 49.1 overs (Sachin Baby 104, Sanju Samson 55; Mohit Avasthi 4/24, Tushar Deshpande 3/56) lost to Mumbai (Revised target under VJD method: 159 in 30 overs) : 161/2 in 24.2 overs (Angkrish Raghuvanshi 57, Ajinkya Rahane 34 not out, Suved Parkar 27 not out) by 8 wickets.

Group B:

Manipur: 113 all out in 45.4 overs (Johnson 51 not out; Rajaneesh Gurbani 3/36, Akshay Karnewar 4/18) lost to Vidarbha: 115 for 2 in 16.5 overs (A Mokhade 49, SR Ramaswamy 30 Karun Nair not out, 18 not out) by 8 wickets.

Group C:

Mizoram: 128 all out in 42.1 overs (Jehu Anderson 38; Suyash Sharma 4/25) lost to Delhi: 132/2 in 16.5 overs (Ayush Badoni 45 not out, Himmat Singh 52 not out) by 8 wickets.

Bihar: 112 all out (Pratap 46 not out; Harshal Patel (4/49, SP Kumar 3/25) lost to Haryana: 117 for no loss in 19.1 overs (Yuvraj Singh 50 not out, Ankit Kumar 61 not out) with 10 wickets.

Group D:

Gujarat: 128 all out in 29 overs (Chirag Gandhi 43 not out; Deepak Chahar 6/41) lost to Rajasthan: 129/5 in 28.4 overs (Deepak Hooda 76 not out, Mahipal Lomror 26 not out; Arzan Nagwaswalla 3/ 31) with 5 wickets.

Himachal Pradesh: 276 all out in 50 overs (PS Chopra 61, Rishi Dhawan 48; Kartik Tyagi 3/46, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 1/36) lost to Uttar Pradesh: 277/3 in 37 overs (Swastik 117, Priyam Garg 74, Rana 42 not out) by 7 wickets.

Group E:

Bengal: 314/8 in 50 overs (Abhimanyu Easwaran 141, Abhishek Porel 59, Anustup Majumdar 41; Atit Sheth 3/51) beat Baroda: 219 all out in 44.2 overs (Shashwat Rawat 59, Shivalik L3; Karan L3 3/51) 43 L3 , Pradipta Pramanik 3/46) with 95 runs.

Tamil Nadu: 296/8 in 50 overs (B Sai Sudarshan 125, Dinesh Karthik 47 not out; Darshan Mishal 2/44) beat Goa: 263 all out in 50 overs (KV Siddharth 61, Snehal Kauthankar 55; Sandeep Warrier 4 , R Sai Kishore 3/32).

(With the exception of the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *