Asia Cup 2023 Stand-by Player Sanju Samson Quits Team India Squad: Report

In what comes as the latest update from Sri Lanka, Indian batsman Sanju Samson has left the Team India squad amid the ongoing Asia Cup Super Four stage, according to sources. Samson was a traveling reserve player in India’s 17-man squad for the Asia Cup 2023. KL Rahul, who had missed the first two matches -against Pakistan and Nepal- of the Asia Cup after picking up a niggle, joined India and trained with the team’s net Thursday. The sources said that after Rahul came to India, Samson was released from the team as he traveled with the team as a stand-by player.

“Sanju Samson is being sent back after KL joined the squad. Samson has been released from the squad as he traveled with the team as a stand-by player,” a BCCI source told ANI.

Earlier on Thursday, India had an intense training session ahead of their clash with arch-rivals Pakistan. KL practiced for both left-arm pacers and right-arm pacers, keeping in mind the quality of the bowling attack from the Pakistani side. He spent the longest time in the nets to be fully prepared for his comeback match.

As for Samson, the wicketkeeper-batsman has also not been included in India’s squad for the ICC World Cup 2023.

The group stage between India and Pakistan was called off due to rain, with both teams sharing a point each. In the match, the Indian batting line-up struggled in front of Pakistan’s pace attack, especially Shaheen Afridi who had taken four wickets in the match. India were bundled out for 266 in 48.5 overs with Hardik Pandya’s 87 and Ishan Kishan’s 82 helping the team post a decent total.

However, rain played spoilsport and the match was called off without Pakistan facing a single ball.
In the Super Four stage, the arch-rivals will once again have a chance to produce an electrifying showdown when the Men in Blue take on Pakistan at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Sunday.

Pakistan kicked off the Super Four with a dominant 7-wicket win against Bangladesh at the Gaddafi Stadium on Wednesday.

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya (vc), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumraj, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav and Prasidh Krishna.

(This story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is automatically generated from a syndicated feed.)

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Comment